Public sample

Sample vehicle history report

A real report on a 1999 Toyota 4Runner Luxury, VIN masked. Tap any finding to open its records.

TRULYCAR VEHICLE HISTORY REPORT

Report SAMPLEIssued Sep 22, 2026Sources NMVTIS · NHTSA · auction and sales records

1999 Toyota 4Runner Luxury, first photo in the archive
From the photo archive · 6 photos

Sport Utility Vehicle

1999 Toyota 4Runner Luxury

JT3HN87R1X02*****VIN, masked on the sample

Engine
3.4L V6, 183 hp
Drive
4WD
Fuel
Gasoline
Built in
Toyota City, Japan
Last odometer
265,069 mi
Titled in
PA, NJ, GA

Title status: SALVAGE

Recorded on Jul 31, 2024.

40/100Poor · condition score

Summary

Our read is AI-generated from the records below

Our read: Walk away

A salvage brand and a front-end damage record from a 2024 insurance auction, on a 4Runner with 265,069 miles, outweigh the consistent odometer trail.

The good

  • Twelve odometer readings from 2003 to 2024 climb in order, from 46,006 to 265,069 miles, with no discrepancy.
  • No theft record is on file.
  • Fourteen title events across PA, NJ, and GA are dated, so the ownership trail is verifiable.

Watch out

  • Salvage brand recorded on 2024-07-31, the same day the vehicle sold at an insurance salvage auction in GA.
  • Front end damage with secondary suspension damage reported at that auction; the estimated repair cost is not stated.
  • Two recall campaigns for exterior lighting from 2006 have no remedy status on record.

Ask the seller

  • Who repaired the front end and suspension after the 2024 auction, and can I see the invoices?
  • Has the salvage title been rebuilt and inspected in GA, and what does the current title say?
  • Can a Toyota dealer confirm whether recalls 06E049000 and 06E026000 were completed?

AI-generated reading of the records in this report. Not professional or purchase advice; verify independently before buying.

Problem checks

Source: NMVTIS state brands and insurer reports, theft records, auction damage

  • Salvage or junk brand

    Result
    Reported
    Detail
    Salvage: Other, Jul 31, 2024
  • Insurance total loss

    Result
    Reported
    Detail
    Sold by an insurer at a salvage auction, Jul 31, 2024
  • Flood or water damage

    Result
    None reported
    Detail
    No flood brand from a reporting state
  • Fire damage

    Result
    None reported
    Detail
    No fire brand from a reporting state
  • Hail damage

    Result
    None reported
    Detail
    No hail brand from a reporting state
  • Rebuilt or reconstructed

    Result
    None reported
    Detail
    No rebuilt brand from a reporting state
  • Odometer brand or rollback

    Result
    None reported
    Detail
    12 readings rise in order
  • Theft

    Result
    None reported
    Detail
    Not listed as stolen
  • Lemon or buyback

    Result
    None reported
    Detail
    No manufacturer buyback brand
  • Structural damage

    Result
    Not stated
    Detail
    Not stated in the damage records; have the frame inspected
  • Airbag deployment

    Result
    Not stated
    Detail
    Not reported by our sources

Title history

Source: NMVTIS state title records

Checked against the title brands states report to NMVTIS (salvage, junk, flood, fire, rebuilt, lemon buyback, odometer, and others): 1 record found, listed below.

Salvage brand: Other

Jul 31, 2024

  • Feb 19, 2003

    State
    PA
    Event
    Title issued
    Odometer
    46,006 mi
  • Oct 4, 2008

    State
    NJ
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    170,969 mi
  • Feb 19, 2009 to Apr 18, 2012

    State
    PA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred, 8 times
    Odometer
    175,536 to 209,000 mi
  • Jan 23, 2014

    State
    GA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    226,981 mi
  • Jul 27, 2016

    State
    GA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    Not recorded
  • Oct 10, 2016

    State
    GA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred (current title)
    Odometer
    Not recorded
  • Jul 31, 2024

    State
    GA
    Event
    Clear title reported at auction
    Odometer
    265,069 mi
  • Undated

    State
    GA
    Event
    CLEAR title reported in sale listing
    Odometer
    265,069 mi
Show all 15 title events
  • Feb 19, 2003

    State
    PA
    Event
    Title issued
    Odometer
    46,006 mi
  • Oct 4, 2008

    State
    NJ
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    170,969 mi
  • Feb 19, 2009

    State
    PA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    175,536 mi
  • Mar 17, 2009

    State
    PA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    175,542 mi
  • Jun 16, 2009

    State
    PA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    175,604 mi
  • Nov 5, 2009

    State
    PA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    179,994 mi
  • May 19, 2011

    State
    PA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    194,783 mi
  • Jun 7, 2011

    State
    PA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    195,000 mi
  • Mar 20, 2012

    State
    PA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    195,000 mi
  • Apr 18, 2012

    State
    PA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    209,000 mi
  • Jan 23, 2014

    State
    GA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    226,981 mi
  • Jul 27, 2016

    State
    GA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred
    Odometer
    Not recorded
  • Oct 10, 2016

    State
    GA
    Event
    Title reissued or transferred (current title)
    Odometer
    Not recorded
  • Jul 31, 2024

    State
    GA
    Event
    Clear title reported at auction
    Odometer
    265,069 mi
  • Undated

    State
    GA
    Event
    CLEAR title reported in sale listing
    Odometer
    265,069 mi

Damage records

Source: auction and insurance records

Front end damage reported at an insurance salvage auction, secondary damage: suspension

Georgia · Jul 31, 2024

Impact area: front.

Damage repaired without an insurance claim or a police report does not reach any database. Have the car inspected before you buy.

Odometer

Source: NMVTIS title records, auctions, and listings

Readings rise in order; no rollback. Last reading 265,069 mi on Jul 31, 2024.

086k172k259k345k20032008201320192024Feb 2003: 46,006 miOct 2008: 170,969 miFeb 2009: 175,536 miMar 2009: 175,542 miJun 2009: 175,604 miNov 2009: 179,994 miMay 2011: 194,783 miJun 2011: 195,000 miMar 2012: 195,000 miApr 2012: 209,000 miJan 2014: 226,981 miJul 2024: 265,069 mi

Reported readingsUS average for its age (13,476 mi a year, Federal Highway Administration)

Show all 12 readings
  • Feb 19, 2003

    Source
    State title record
    Odometer
    46,006 mi
  • Oct 4, 2008

    Source
    State title record
    Odometer
    170,969 mi
  • Feb 19, 2009

    Source
    State title record
    Odometer
    175,536 mi
  • Mar 17, 2009

    Source
    State title record
    Odometer
    175,542 mi
  • Jun 16, 2009

    Source
    State title record
    Odometer
    175,604 mi
  • Nov 5, 2009

    Source
    State title record
    Odometer
    179,994 mi
  • May 19, 2011

    Source
    State title record
    Odometer
    194,783 mi
  • Jun 7, 2011

    Source
    State title record
    Odometer
    195,000 mi
  • Mar 20, 2012

    Source
    State title record
    Odometer
    195,000 mi
  • Apr 18, 2012

    Source
    State title record
    Odometer
    209,000 mi
  • Jan 23, 2014

    Source
    State title record
    Odometer
    226,981 mi
  • Jul 31, 2024

    Source
    Auction record
    Odometer
    265,069 mi

Detailed history

Every dated record, oldest first

  • Feb 19, 2003

    Odometer
    46,006 mi
    Source
    Pennsylvania title office
    Record
    Title issued
  • Oct 4, 2008

    Odometer
    170,969 mi
    Source
    New Jersey title office
    Record
    Title reissued or transferred
  • Feb 19, 2009 to Apr 18, 2012

    Odometer
    175,536 to 209,000 mi
    Source
    Pennsylvania title office
    Record
    Title reissued or transferred, 8 times
  • Jan 23, 2014

    Odometer
    226,981 mi
    Source
    Georgia title office
    Record
    Title reissued or transferred
  • Jul 27, 2016

    Odometer
    Source
    Georgia title office
    Record
    Title reissued or transferred
  • Oct 10, 2016

    Odometer
    Source
    Georgia title office
    Record
    Title reissued or transferred (current title)
  • Jul 31, 2024

    Odometer
    265,069 mi
    Source
    Auction record
    Record
    Clear title reported at auction
  • Jul 31, 2024

    Odometer
    Source
    NMVTIS report
    Record
    Salvage brand applied (other)
  • Jul 31, 2024

    Odometer
    Source
    Salvage auction, GA
    Record
    Front end damage reported at an insurance salvage auction, secondary damage: suspension
  • Undated

    Odometer
    265,069 mi
    Source
    Sale listing
    Record
    CLEAR title reported in sale listing

Safety recalls

Source: NHTSA

Remedy status was not reported for these 2 campaigns. Campaigns are listed for this model year, make, and model, so not every one applies to every car; those marked "Aftermarket equipment" apply only if that equipment was fitted. Any dealer can check with the VIN, free.

Exterior lighting06E049000Aftermarket equipment

May 24, 2006

Certain ck motorsports combination headlights, clear corner, bumper, and side marker lights sold as replacement lamps for use on the passenger vehicles listed above. Some combination lamps that are not equipped with amber side reflectors fail to conform to federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 108, lamps, reflective devices, and associated equipment.

Exterior lighting06E026000Aftermarket equipment

Mar 23, 2006

Certain pro-a motors corner lamps, turn signals, and headlights sold as replacement lamps for use on certain passenger vehicles listed above. Some combination lamps that are not equipped with amber side reflectors fail to conform to federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 108, lamps, reflective devices, and associated equipment.

Maintenance and warranty

Source: manufacturer schedules and factory terms

Factory warranty

Basic
3 yr / 36,000 mi
Corrosion perforation
5 yr / unlimited mi
Powertrain
5 yr / 60,000 mi

Based on this vehicle's age, factory coverage has likely expired. Terms shown are the original factory specifications. Verify remaining coverage with an authorized dealer.

Market value

Market data for the Base 4dr 4x4 Manual trim

$550 to $5,561

These values assume a clean title. With this car's title brand it is typically worth far less.

  • Outstanding

    Trade-in
    $2,449
    Private party
    $4,364
    Dealer retail
    $5,561
  • Clean

    Trade-in
    $1,982
    Private party
    $3,460
    Dealer retail
    $4,325
  • Average

    Trade-in
    $1,649
    Private party
    $2,815
    Dealer retail
    $3,443
  • Rough

    Trade-in
    $550
    Private party
    $939
    Dealer retail
    $1,148

Reported market data for this model and trim. Condition, options, and local demand move real prices. Not an appraisal or an offer.

Photos

Source: auction and listing archives

Specifications

Source: NHTSA VIN decode and vehicle data

Identity

Model Year
1999
Make
TOYOTA
Model
4Runner
Trim
Luxury
Series
RZN180L/VZN180L/RZN185L/VZN185L
Body Class
Sport Utility Vehicle [SUV]/Multipurpose Vehicle [MPV]
Doors
4
Vehicle Type
MULTIPURPOSE PASSENGER VEHICLE (MPV)

Engine

Displacement (L)
3.4
Cylinders
6
Configuration
V-Shaped
Horsepower
183
Fuel Type
Gasoline

Drivetrain

Drive Type
4WD/4-Wheel Drive/4x4

Manufacturing

Manufacturer
TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION
Plant City
TOYOTA CITY
Plant State
AICHI
Plant Country
JAPAN

Ask about this car

AI answers from the records in this report

Ask TrulyCar about this car

Available on full reports: ask anything about the vehicle's records

AI answers about the records in this report. Not professional or purchase advice. Verify independently before buying.

Sources and notices

NMVTIS Consumer Access Disclaimer: The National Motor Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) is an electronic system that contains information on certain automobiles titled in the United States. NMVTIS is intended to serve as a reliable source of title and brand history for automobiles, but it does not contain detailed information regarding a vehicle's repair history.

Reports return vehicle records only. Personal identifying information, including owner names, residential addresses, and phone numbers, is withheld under the federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act (18 U.S.C. § 2721).

TrulyCar reports are compiled from official government and industry data sources, including NMVTIS title records and NHTSA specification and recall data, to the extent records have been reported and are available for a given vehicle. A report is a research tool, not a guarantee of condition, and is not a substitute for a physical inspection. See our Terms and Refund Policy.

Never copy a VIN again. The free TrulyCar Chrome extension spots VINs on Craigslist, Facebook Marketplace, and other listing sites and checks them in one click.

Get the extension

Not sure what you're looking at? Read the section-by-section guide.

The photo a listing shows you, and the one it doesn't

The same car, twice. Drag the divider: this 2023 BMW X3 ran a salvage lane before it was listed, and the report pairs the seller's photos with what the auction archive holds for the VIN.

The same 2023 BMW X3 in the salvage auction lane with front-end collision damage
2023 BMW X3 as advertised in its listing
ListingAuction lane

What the listing shows

Clean exterior, detailed finish, advertised as ready to drive.

What the TrulyCar report uncovered

Prior structural front-end collision recorded in the salvage auction archive.

Check any vehicle before you buy it

The decode is free and takes seconds. The full report is one payment, no subscription.

Run a free VIN check