How to read a vehicle history report
A section-by-section walkthrough of a real TrulyCar report, using the public sample as the example. Every excerpt below is the actual report component, not a mock-up, so what you learn here is what you will see on your own car.
What do title records and brands look like?
The title section is where the federal NMVTIS record lands. It has two parts: the current status, and the trail of title events with the state and mileage recorded at each one.
Problem checks
Source: NMVTIS state brands and insurer reports, theft records, auction damage
Salvage or junk brand
- Result
- Reported
- Detail
- Salvage: Other, Jul 31, 2024
Insurance total loss
- Result
- Reported
- Detail
- Sold by an insurer at a salvage auction, Jul 31, 2024
Flood or water damage
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- No flood brand from a reporting state
Fire damage
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- No fire brand from a reporting state
Hail damage
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- No hail brand from a reporting state
Rebuilt or reconstructed
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- No rebuilt brand from a reporting state
Odometer brand or rollback
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- 12 readings rise in order
Theft
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- Not listed as stolen
Lemon or buyback
- Result
- None reported
- Detail
- No manufacturer buyback brand
Structural damage
- Result
- Not stated
- Detail
- Not stated in the damage records; have the frame inspected
Airbag deployment
- Result
- Not stated
- Detail
- Not reported by our sources
| Check | Result | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Salvage or junk brand | Reported | Salvage: Other, Jul 31, 2024 |
| Insurance total loss | Reported | Sold by an insurer at a salvage auction, Jul 31, 2024 |
| Flood or water damage | None reported | No flood brand from a reporting state |
| Fire damage | None reported | No fire brand from a reporting state |
| Hail damage | None reported | No hail brand from a reporting state |
| Rebuilt or reconstructed | None reported | No rebuilt brand from a reporting state |
| Odometer brand or rollback | None reported | 12 readings rise in order |
| Theft | None reported | Not listed as stolen |
| Lemon or buyback | None reported | No manufacturer buyback brand |
| Structural damage | Not stated | Not stated in the damage records; have the frame inspected |
| Airbag deployment | Not stated | Not reported by our sources |
Title history
Source: NMVTIS state title records
Checked against the title brands states report to NMVTIS (salvage, junk, flood, fire, rebuilt, lemon buyback, odometer, and others): 1 record found, listed below.
Salvage brand: Other
Jul 31, 2024
Feb 19, 2003
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title issued
- Odometer
- 46,006 mi
Oct 4, 2008
- State
- NJ
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 170,969 mi
Feb 19, 2009 to Apr 18, 2012
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred, 8 times
- Odometer
- 175,536 to 209,000 mi
Jan 23, 2014
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 226,981 mi
Jul 27, 2016
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- Not recorded
Oct 10, 2016
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred (current title)
- Odometer
- Not recorded
Jul 31, 2024
- State
- GA
- Event
- Clear title reported at auction
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
Undated
- State
- GA
- Event
- CLEAR title reported in sale listing
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
| Date | State | Event | Odometer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 19, 2003 | PA | Title issued | 46,006 mi |
| Oct 4, 2008 | NJ | Title reissued or transferred | 170,969 mi |
| Feb 19, 2009 to Apr 18, 2012 | PA | Title reissued or transferred, 8 times | 175,536 to 209,000 mi |
| Jan 23, 2014 | GA | Title reissued or transferred | 226,981 mi |
| Jul 27, 2016 | GA | Title reissued or transferred | Not recorded |
| Oct 10, 2016 | GA | Title reissued or transferred (current title) | Not recorded |
| Jul 31, 2024 | GA | Clear title reported at auction | 265,069 mi |
| Undated | GA | CLEAR title reported in sale listing | 265,069 mi |
Show all 15 title eventsHide the full list
Feb 19, 2003
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title issued
- Odometer
- 46,006 mi
Oct 4, 2008
- State
- NJ
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 170,969 mi
Feb 19, 2009
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 175,536 mi
Mar 17, 2009
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 175,542 mi
Jun 16, 2009
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 175,604 mi
Nov 5, 2009
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 179,994 mi
May 19, 2011
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 194,783 mi
Jun 7, 2011
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 195,000 mi
Mar 20, 2012
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 195,000 mi
Apr 18, 2012
- State
- PA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 209,000 mi
Jan 23, 2014
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- 226,981 mi
Jul 27, 2016
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred
- Odometer
- Not recorded
Oct 10, 2016
- State
- GA
- Event
- Title reissued or transferred (current title)
- Odometer
- Not recorded
Jul 31, 2024
- State
- GA
- Event
- Clear title reported at auction
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
Undated
- State
- GA
- Event
- CLEAR title reported in sale listing
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
| Date | State | Event | Odometer |
|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 19, 2003 | PA | Title issued | 46,006 mi |
| Oct 4, 2008 | NJ | Title reissued or transferred | 170,969 mi |
| Feb 19, 2009 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 175,536 mi |
| Mar 17, 2009 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 175,542 mi |
| Jun 16, 2009 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 175,604 mi |
| Nov 5, 2009 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 179,994 mi |
| May 19, 2011 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 194,783 mi |
| Jun 7, 2011 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 195,000 mi |
| Mar 20, 2012 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 195,000 mi |
| Apr 18, 2012 | PA | Title reissued or transferred | 209,000 mi |
| Jan 23, 2014 | GA | Title reissued or transferred | 226,981 mi |
| Jul 27, 2016 | GA | Title reissued or transferred | Not recorded |
| Oct 10, 2016 | GA | Title reissued or transferred (current title) | Not recorded |
| Jul 31, 2024 | GA | Clear title reported at auction | 265,069 mi |
| Undated | GA | CLEAR title reported in sale listing | 265,069 mi |
- 1
Status line. This car reads Salvage, applied in Georgia on July 31, 2024, the day it sold at an insurance salvage auction. A brand is a permanent label a state applies to the title: salvage, rebuilt, junk, flood, fire, hail, or lemon. One brand, at any point in the car's life, is the single most important fact in the whole report.
- 2
The event trail. Fifteen events across three states: issued in Pennsylvania in 2003, New Jersey in 2008, back to Pennsylvania through 2012, Georgia from 2014, current title in 2016. A state change by itself is normal; people move. What you are checking is that the mileage at each event rises and that no brand appears in one state and vanishes in the next.
- 3
Mileage at each event. 46,006 in 2003, then 170,969, then 175,536, up to 226,981 in 2014. Title events are independent of the odometer section below, so they act as a second witness: if these numbers and the odometer trail disagree, something was reported wrong or changed.
This is what a brand looks like: the status line reads Salvage in red, the brand sits in the trail with the state and date it was applied, and TrulyBear's verdict opens with it. Note the sale listing above the trail that reported a Clear title for the same vehicle: a listing claim and a state record disagreeing is exactly what this section is for. A brand that shows in one state and disappears after a title transfer to another state is the pattern called title washing; this guide explains how it works, and this one covers what each brand means.
How do I read a damage record?
Damage events come from insurance, police, and auction reporting. Each one carries three flags that matter far more than the description text.
Damage records
Source: auction and insurance records
Front end damage reported at an insurance salvage auction, secondary damage: suspension
Georgia · Jul 31, 2024
Impact area: front.
Damage repaired without an insurance claim or a police report does not reach any database. Have the car inspected before you buy.
- 1
Severity. This record is tagged as a warning, not an alert: front end damage reported at an insurance salvage auction in Georgia in July 2024. The tag is the report's own read of how much the event should worry you; the salvage brand it came with is what raises the whole report to an alert.
- 2
Structural. Marked no here. Structural means the frame or unibody was involved, which changes resale value, safety in a second collision, and sometimes insurability. It is the word that changes the price conversation.
- 3
Mechanical. The auction named suspension as secondary damage. Suspension, undercarriage, or drivetrain damage is the kind a respray hides. Airbag status is not reported by any source, so the problem checks say “Not stated” rather than claiming it either way.
- 4
Impact area. Front. Match it against the photos and the car in front of you: a front impact record on a car with a suspiciously new bumper and mismatched paint is the report and the metal agreeing.
The sample's photo archive contains placeholder frames, not auction images, because we only show real photos for real cars. To see what a genuine before-and-after looks like, the listing-versus-auction slider on the sample report page uses a real salvage-history vehicle, and this guide explains where archive photos come from.
What does a healthy odometer trail look like?
The odometer section is a list of every mileage reading anyone reported for the VIN, in date order, with who reported it. You read it like a ruler: the numbers should only ever go up.
Odometer
Source: NMVTIS title records, auctions, and listings
Readings rise in order; no rollback. Last reading 265,069 mi on Jul 31, 2024.
Reported readingsUS average for its age (13,476 mi a year, Federal Highway Administration)
Show all 12 readingsHide the full list
Feb 19, 2003
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 46,006 mi
Oct 4, 2008
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 170,969 mi
Feb 19, 2009
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 175,536 mi
Mar 17, 2009
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 175,542 mi
Jun 16, 2009
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 175,604 mi
Nov 5, 2009
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 179,994 mi
May 19, 2011
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 194,783 mi
Jun 7, 2011
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 195,000 mi
Mar 20, 2012
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 195,000 mi
Apr 18, 2012
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 209,000 mi
Jan 23, 2014
- Source
- State title record
- Odometer
- 226,981 mi
Jul 31, 2024
- Source
- Auction record
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
| Date | Source | Odometer |
|---|---|---|
| Feb 19, 2003 | State title record | 46,006 mi |
| Oct 4, 2008 | State title record | 170,969 mi |
| Feb 19, 2009 | State title record | 175,536 mi |
| Mar 17, 2009 | State title record | 175,542 mi |
| Jun 16, 2009 | State title record | 175,604 mi |
| Nov 5, 2009 | State title record | 179,994 mi |
| May 19, 2011 | State title record | 194,783 mi |
| Jun 7, 2011 | State title record | 195,000 mi |
| Mar 20, 2012 | State title record | 195,000 mi |
| Apr 18, 2012 | State title record | 209,000 mi |
| Jan 23, 2014 | State title record | 226,981 mi |
| Jul 31, 2024 | Auction record | 265,069 mi |
- 1
Twelve readings, always rising. From 46,006 miles at a 2003 title event to 265,069 at the 2024 auction. Read top to bottom; each number is larger than the one before it. That is what "Odometer Consistent" on the overview means, and it holds even on a salvage car.
- 2
Independent sources. Eleven readings from state title records and one from an auction record. Readings from different reporters that agree are harder to fake than any single document the seller hands you.
- 3
The pace. Roughly 10,000 miles a year over twenty-one years, but only 38,088 miles between the January 2014 title event and the July 2024 auction. A car that slows down that much late in life was parked, sold on, or both. Large gaps are not a problem by themselves; a reading that is lower than an earlier one is.
This trail has no discrepancy, so there is no rollback to show. On a rolled-back car the report flags the reading where the number went backward, the summary and the problem checks mark it in red, and the verdict names it. The rollback guide walks through the nine checks to run in person.
How do ownership, service due, and recalls fit together?
These three sections are strongest when read against each other. The sample shows both sides: title events that corroborate the odometer, and a sale listing that the title record contradicts.
Detailed history
Every dated record, oldest first
Feb 19, 2003
- Odometer
- 46,006 mi
- Source
- Pennsylvania title office
- Record
- Title issued
Oct 4, 2008
- Odometer
- 170,969 mi
- Source
- New Jersey title office
- Record
- Title reissued or transferred
Feb 19, 2009 to Apr 18, 2012
- Odometer
- 175,536 to 209,000 mi
- Source
- Pennsylvania title office
- Record
- Title reissued or transferred, 8 times
Jan 23, 2014
- Odometer
- 226,981 mi
- Source
- Georgia title office
- Record
- Title reissued or transferred
Jul 27, 2016
- Odometer
- Source
- Georgia title office
- Record
- Title reissued or transferred
Oct 10, 2016
- Odometer
- Source
- Georgia title office
- Record
- Title reissued or transferred (current title)
Jul 31, 2024
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
- Source
- Auction record
- Record
- Clear title reported at auction
Jul 31, 2024
- Odometer
- Source
- NMVTIS report
- Record
- Salvage brand applied (other)
Jul 31, 2024
- Odometer
- Source
- Salvage auction, GA
- Record
- Front end damage reported at an insurance salvage auction, secondary damage: suspension
Undated
- Odometer
- 265,069 mi
- Source
- Sale listing
- Record
- CLEAR title reported in sale listing
| Date | Odometer | Source | Record |
|---|---|---|---|
| Feb 19, 2003 | 46,006 mi | Pennsylvania title office | Title issued |
| Oct 4, 2008 | 170,969 mi | New Jersey title office | Title reissued or transferred |
| Feb 19, 2009 to Apr 18, 2012 | 175,536 to 209,000 mi | Pennsylvania title office | Title reissued or transferred, 8 times |
| Jan 23, 2014 | 226,981 mi | Georgia title office | Title reissued or transferred |
| Jul 27, 2016 | Georgia title office | Title reissued or transferred | |
| Oct 10, 2016 | Georgia title office | Title reissued or transferred (current title) | |
| Jul 31, 2024 | 265,069 mi | Auction record | Clear title reported at auction |
| Jul 31, 2024 | NMVTIS report | Salvage brand applied (other) | |
| Jul 31, 2024 | Salvage auction, GA | Front end damage reported at an insurance salvage auction, secondary damage: suspension | |
| Undated | 265,069 mi | Sale listing | CLEAR title reported in sale listing |
Safety recalls
Source: NHTSA
Remedy status was not reported for these 2 campaigns. Campaigns are listed for this model year, make, and model, so not every one applies to every car; those marked "Aftermarket equipment" apply only if that equipment was fitted. Any dealer can check with the VIN, free.
Exterior lighting06E049000Aftermarket equipment
May 24, 2006
Certain ck motorsports combination headlights, clear corner, bumper, and side marker lights sold as replacement lamps for use on the passenger vehicles listed above. Some combination lamps that are not equipped with amber side reflectors fail to conform to federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 108, lamps, reflective devices, and associated equipment.
Exterior lighting06E026000Aftermarket equipment
Mar 23, 2006
Certain pro-a motors corner lamps, turn signals, and headlights sold as replacement lamps for use on certain passenger vehicles listed above. Some combination lamps that are not equipped with amber side reflectors fail to conform to federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 108, lamps, reflective devices, and associated equipment.
Maintenance and warranty
Source: manufacturer schedules and factory terms
Factory warranty
- Basic
- 3 yr / 36,000 mi
- Corrosion perforation
- 5 yr / unlimited mi
- Powertrain
- 5 yr / 60,000 mi
Based on this vehicle's age, factory coverage has likely expired. Terms shown are the original factory specifications. Verify remaining coverage with an authorized dealer.
- 1
Three title states. Pennsylvania from 2003, New Jersey for a few months from October 2008, Pennsylvania again until January 2014, Georgia since. Each holder change here matches a title event on the same date in the title section: two records agreeing. An exact owner count is not reported; the title trail is the honest substitute, and fourteen changes on one vehicle is itself a fact to price in.
- 2
Usage events. Auction sales and dealer listings appear here too. Fleet, rental, or taxi sellers tend to mean harder miles; it is a fact worth pricing in, not a verdict on its own.
- 3
Service due at this mileage. No report, ours included, sees the work a shop actually did unless the shop reports it, and most never do. So on cars with a published factory schedule, the report reads that schedule against the mileage and lists the intervals that were due, with a typical cost next to each one: those are the receipts to ask for. No schedule is published for this 1999 model, so the section says so rather than pretending, which is the honest answer for a 25-year-old vehicle.
- 4
The recall cross-check. The recalls section lists two campaigns, 06E049000 and 06E026000, both for exterior lighting from 2006, with no remedy status on record. Any dealer can confirm completion free with the VIN. An open recall is never a reason to walk away by itself; it is a free fix and a good first question.
How should I use the market value and specs?
Specifications come from NHTSA's build data for the exact VIN; market values are reported figures for the trim, by condition. Neither is an appraisal, and both are useful precisely because they are not the seller's numbers.
Market value
Market data for the Base 4dr 4x4 Manual trim
$550 to $5,561
These values assume a clean title. With this car's title brand it is typically worth far less.
Outstanding
- Trade-in
- $2,449
- Private party
- $4,364
- Dealer retail
- $5,561
Clean
- Trade-in
- $1,982
- Private party
- $3,460
- Dealer retail
- $4,325
Average
- Trade-in
- $1,649
- Private party
- $2,815
- Dealer retail
- $3,443
Rough
- Trade-in
- $550
- Private party
- $939
- Dealer retail
- $1,148
| Condition | Trade-in | Private party | Dealer retail |
|---|---|---|---|
| Outstanding | $2,449 | $4,364 | $5,561 |
| Clean | $1,982 | $3,460 | $4,325 |
| Average | $1,649 | $2,815 | $3,443 |
| Rough | $550 | $939 | $1,148 |
Reported market data for this model and trim. Condition, options, and local demand move real prices. Not an appraisal or an offer.
Specifications
Source: NHTSA VIN decode and vehicle data
- Model Year
- 1999
- Make
- TOYOTA
- Model
- 4Runner
- Trim
- Luxury
- Series
- RZN180L/VZN180L/RZN185L/VZN185L
- Body Class
- Sport Utility Vehicle [SUV]/Multipurpose Vehicle [MPV]
- Doors
- 4
- Vehicle Type
- MULTIPURPOSE PASSENGER VEHICLE (MPV)
Identity
- Displacement (L)
- 3.4
- Cylinders
- 6
- Configuration
- V-Shaped
- Horsepower
- 183
- Fuel Type
- Gasoline
Engine
- Drive Type
- 4WD/4-Wheel Drive/4x4
Drivetrain
- Manufacturer
- TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION
- Plant City
- TOYOTA CITY
- Plant State
- AICHI
- Plant Country
- JAPAN
Manufacturing
- 1
Pick your column. Buying from a private seller, read Private Party. Buying from a lot, read Dealer Retail. Trading yours in, read Trade-In. Quoting the wrong column is the most common way buyers lose a negotiation.
- 2
Pick your row honestly. Outstanding, Clean, Average, Rough. Most used cars are Average. The spread between Clean and Rough on this 4Runner is over $2,500 at private party, which is the room a damage record or a worn interior gives you.
- 3
Specs as a lie detector. Trim, engine, drivetrain, and build plant come from the manufacturer's filing for this VIN. A listing that claims a trim the specs do not show is either a mistake or a markup.
Reading a report: common questions
Is the sample on this page a real vehicle history report?
Why does the sample show a salvage brand but no rollback?
What is the most important section to read first?
What does an empty section mean?
Now read one for a car you actually want
Decode any VIN free in seconds, then unlock the full report and read it with this page beside you.
Run a free VIN check